‘WOW, you’re tall!’

The other day I was rushing out of work to make it to the forum at Harvard on time. I ran to the T and was the last person to squeeze in. Out of nowhere a voice behind me startled me. The conversation went a bit like this:  

Man – ‘WOW! You’re TALL!’ (Nice! The ol’ eyes are working! Good job!)  

Me – ‘Yes, yes I am.’  

Man – How tall are you??  

Me – ‘5’10 1/2’  

Man – ‘So, you comin’ from work?’  

Me – ‘Yes’  

Man – ‘You must work in an office’  

Me – ‘Yes I do’  

Man – ‘You’re really pretty’  

Me – Thank you?  

Man – ‘I’m getting off at the next stop, mind if I get your number and give you a call sometime?’  

*The packed train is starting, I am sweating from my run to rush on the T, and am now bright red*  

Me – ‘I’m sorry, I actually have a boyfriend’  

Man – *Gives me the stink eye*  

A – Never willingly put yourself in a situation like this. B – I was not giving off any sort of ‘I’m interested in you’ type vibes and with my uninterested (although not rude) answers he should have known when to stop. Don’t ask for the number at that point. D – DON’T hit on someone on a overly packed, hot train – it’s just not gonna work. And lastly, E – If someone says they have a boyfriend/girlfriend, don’t give them the stink eye – that’s rude. They’re either telling the truth, or lying to avoid hurting your feelings, so just end the conversation with a smile and keep your dignity.  

This Saturday, March 27th is the Invasion of the Second Glass Wine Tasting (*free*) at Bauer Wines and Spirits – 330 Newbury Street, Boston – (617) 262-0363, 5pm-7pm. Discounted tickets for the Wine Riot will also be sold.  

Formaggio Kitchen’s BBQ season starts this Saturday, March 27th from 11am-2pm – 244 Huron Avenue Cambridge | (617) 354-4750. You can enjoy your BBQ at their sidewalk tables in a relaxing, laid back atmosphere.  

More info here – http://www.formaggiokitchen.com/SaturdayBBQ  

On Friday, April 9th the Animal Rescue League of Boston is having a happy hour from 6pm-8pm at Ned Devines – 1 Faneuil Hall Market Place, Boston – (617) 248-8800. Tickets are $20 and include two drinks (wine or beer.) You can get them here – www.arlboston.org/happyhour.  

LUNAFEST Boston is Monday, April 5th starting at 5:30pm. LUNAFEST is a program of ten short films all by, for and about women. ‘These films celebrate the unique, touching and inspirational roles of women in our local, national and international communities.’  

Reception starts at 5:30 with a 7:00pm showtime. Tickets are $30, but all proceeds go to charity! Tickets include hors d’oeuvres, drink ticket, goody bag and more.  There will also be a silent auction and raffle. http://bostonlunafest.eventbrite.com/  

Today’s Groupon of the day is $20 for $40 worth of food/beer/cocktails at The Savant Project – 1625 Tremont Street, Boston – (617) 566-5958 http://www.groupon.com/boston  

Want some cheap SOX tickets?? Travelzoo is offering $15-$20 bleacher seats against the Texas Rangers – http://entertainment.travelzoo.com/entertainment/777192?ptl=done&rating=&tppct  

  • Tuesday, April 20 at 7:10 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 21 at 7:10 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 22 at 7:10 p.m.
  •   

    This actually sounds kinda cool – 60% to Limelight Stage and Studios, a very intense karaoke place. They give you sake shots before you sing! 204 Tremont Street, Boston.  

    http://www.buywithme.com/bostondotcom/deals/491-limelight-studio?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter  

    Healthworks member?? Start referring friends to Healthworks asap! You could win a ton of great prizes, including premium seats to the Celtics game April 9th which also includes going behind the scenes with the Celtics dancers!  

    ttp://www.healthworksfitness.com/mymembership/referafriend.php  

    I love Ben and Jerry’s.  

     Their new Spring flavors are out, including Boston Cream Pie (Yellow Cake Pieces, Fudge Flakes and Swirls of Pastry Cream), Dulce Delish (Rich Caramel Ice Cream with Dark Caramel Swirls), Maple Blondie (Maple Ice Cream with Blonde Brownie Chunks & a Maple Caramel Swirl), Milk and Cookies (Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Cookie Swirl, Chocolate Chip and Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies), Mud Pie (Chocolate & Coffee Liqueur Ice Creams Swirled Together with a Chocolate Cookie Swirl) and Peanut Brittle (Peanut Brittle Ice Cream with Peanut Brittle Pieces and a Caramel Swirl.)  

    Photographs_Brad Thomas Parsons

     

     I don’t know why I just did that to myself. I would do anything for some of these new flavors right now! I apologize if you are experiencing similar feelings…  

    Excuse me, would you like some salt with your coffee? That combo sounds right up my alley. Is it up yours? http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/2Zguje/blog.khymos.org/2010/03/21/a-pinch-of-salt-for-your-coffee-sir//r:t   

    Has the warmer weather hurt syrup making? http://www.boston.com/news/local/breaking_news/2010/03/warm_weather_cr.html?camp=localsearch:on:twit:mostpop  

    Tonight a few of my girlfriends and I are going to the Shecky’s Girl’s Night Out event at Cyclorama at 539 Tremont Street, Boston. It sounds like it should be a lot of fun! I can’t wait for my goody bag 🙂   

    I’ll let you know how it goes!

    Leave a comment